Labour NEC Members
If you want to lobby NEC members by e-mail, here are some ideas for e-mails and a list, with which division they are from and for the TU reps, which union.
But first of all some speaking points that you could use in putting your email together.
  • Every deselection attempt will create bad press for the leadership. Whereas if Open Selection is introduced there isn't a story. Routine is not a drama.
  • It's easier - and more democratic - to have the same process everywhere rather than an easier process which still only happens exceptionally rather than being the rule.
  • Trade unionists from affiliated unions can vote in an Open Selection ballot in the same way as other members. No-one is excluded.
  • A ballot only happens if there is more than one candidate on the short list. 
  • Good MP's have nothing to fear from Open Selection. When Mandatory Reselection existed in the 1980's there were hardly any MP's who lost their seats because of it.
  • No back room deals, everything is out in the open.
  • If you want dedicated hard working activists to go out, rain or shine, to canvass for a Labour Candidate, they are far more likely to do that and are far more likely to be enthusiastic about the candidate if they have a choice about who they are.
  • We don't have trigger ballots for Labour or Trade Union elections. Why do we need them for PPC selections?

Please stay polite and focused on why Open Selection is so important. You might also want to mention the threshold for leadership elections, which also has headed in a bad direction, apparently.

And... don't forget to sign the NEC Petition, the numbers are still growing fast.

Click here to email Labour’s NEC members and lobby them for open selections and a lower leadership nominations threshold.

Individual Members of the NEC with their emails.

Chair Andy Kerr CWU [email protected] 

Vice Chair Wendy Nichols (direct emails to Wendy Nichols)

Leader Jeremy Corbyn MP CWU

Deputy Leader Tom Watson Unite [email protected]

Treasurer Diane Holland Unite [email protected]

Shadow Front Bench Jon TrickettMP [email protected]

Shadow Front Bench Rebecca Long BaileyMP [email protected]

Shadow Front Bench Kate OsamorMP/BAME [email protected]

Shadow Scottish Front Bench

Richard Leonard MSP MP/BAME [email protected] [email protected]

Welsh Government Frontbench

Alun Davis AM [email protected] 

EPLP Leader Richard Corbett MEP [email protected]

Young Labour Rep Lara McNeill Youth [email protected]

Bame Labour Rep Keith Vaz BAME [email protected]

Div I Trade Unions Keith Birch (Unison) UNISON [email protected]

Div I Trade Unions Jim Kennedy (Unite) UNITE [email protected]

Div I Trade Unions Andi Fox (TSSA) TSSA [email protected]

Div I Trade Unions Pauline McCarthy (Bakers) BAKERS [email protected] (Gen Sec Ronnie Draper [email protected])

Div I Trade Unions Paddy Lillis (Usdaw) USDAW [email protected] (Paddy is Gen Sec so direct emails to Paddy Lillis)

Div I Trade Unions Wendy Nichols (Unison) UNISON [email protected] (direct emails to Wendy Nichols)

Div I Trade Unions Andy Kerr (CWU) CWU [email protected]; [email protected] (Dave Ward is Gen Sec [email protected])

Div I Trade Unions Sarah Owen (GMB) GMB [email protected]

Div I Trade Unions Currently unfilled (UNITE) UNITE

Div I Trade Unions Cath Speight (GMB) GMB [email protected]

Div I Trade Unions Ian Murray (FBU) FBU [email protected]

Div I Trade Unions Mick Whelan (ASLEF) ASLEF [email protected]

Div I Trade Unions Joanne Cairns (USDAW) USDAW [email protected]

Div II Socialist Societies James Asser Councillor/LGBT [email protected]

Div III CLP Representatives Ann Black UNISON [email protected]
Div III CLP Representatives Yasmin Dar BAME [email protected]

Div III CLP Representatives Rachel Garnham [email protected]

Div III CLP Representatives Jon Lansman MOMENTUM [email protected]
Div III CLP Representatives Eddie Izzard [email protected]
Div III CLP Representatives Claudia Webbe Councillor/BAME [email protected]
Div III CLP Representatives Darren Williams PCS [email protected]
Div III CLP Representatives Pete Willsman Pete Willsman

Div III CLP Representatives Rhea Wolfson [email protected]

Div IV Councillor Reps Nick Forbes Councillor [email protected]

Div IV Councillor Reps Alice Perry Councillor [email protected] 

DIV V PLP/ EPLP Rep George Howarth MP/PLP [email protected]

DIV V PLP/ EPLP Rep Margaret Beckett MP/PLP [email protected]

DIV V PLP/ EPLP Rep Shabana Mahmood MP/PLP/BAME [email protected]


++And we have a Twitter Storm on Thursday at 7 pm UK time:

Showing 3 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • Pat Massie
    commented 2019-05-07 18:01:14 +0100
    I believe open selection if used properly can benefit the party by ensuring that MPs are truly working for the party and not for their themselves and against the party, which one or two are doing at the moment and attacking leadership as well as party membership constantly.
  • Bob Brown
    commented 2018-09-22 10:05:31 +0100
    I think open selection is more democratic and will elect MPs who work for the party not their own ends
  • Joe Hill
    followed this page 2018-09-21 09:18:02 +0100

NEC Reps