Petition to NEC: Make Open Selection an NEC Motion!

Before Conference the NEC meets to discuss its response to the Party Democracy Review. This is a golden opportunity for Party Members to ask the NEC to make Open Selection their own. Let's not miss this opportunity!

Sign the petition. Tell your friends. Use the text to send your own email/letter. Share our new video.





To the National Executive Committee

Andy Kerr (Chair), Wendy Nichols (Vice Chair), Jeremy Corbyn MP, Tom Watson MP, Diana Holland, Jon Trickett MP, Rebecca Long-Bailey MP, Kate Osamor MP, Richard Leonard MSP, Alun Davies AM, Richard Corbett MEP, Lara McNeill, Keith Vaz MP, Keith Birch (Unison), Jim Kennedy (Unite), Andi Fox (TSSA), Pauline McCarthy (Bakers), Paddy Lillis (Usdaw), Wendy Nichols (Unison), Andy Kerr (CWU), Sarah Owen (GMB), Cath Speight (GMB), Ian Murray (FBU), Mick Whelan (ASLEF), Joanne Cairns (USDAW), James Asser, Ann Black, Yasmin Dar, Rachel Garnham, Jon Lansman, Eddie Izzard, Claudia Webbe, Darren Williams, Pete Willsman, Rhea Wolfson, Nick Forbes, Alice Perry, George Howarth MP, Margaret Beckett MP, Shabana Mahmood MP

Open Letter: Open Selection

Dear NEC members,

Democracy and accountability are core principles of Labour’s manifesto For The Many, Not The Few. They are central to our proposals for taking back control of our major utilities. They are the principal concerns of our Democracy Review. But as a party, we lack  democracy and accountability when it comes to the selection and reselection of our parliamentary candidates.

Labour International CLP has proposed an Open Selection constitutional amendment for this year’s Conference which would remedy this situation by automatically giving all Labour members a democratic vote to chose the best Labour candidate for their seat, every election.

This Open Selection proposal would abolish the trigger ballot, which forces local members to campaign actively to ‘deselect’ their sitting MP: an antagonistic process which is currently fomenting division in the party at a time when we urgently need more unity.

In its place, Open Selection would extend the principle of one member one vote throughout the party. OMOV has brought huge positive changes to Labour. It commands overwhelming support amongst members and has been responsible for an astronomic rise in party membership. Extending OMOV to the selection of parliamentary candidates will make Labour membership even more meaningful and attractive.

Open Selection would open up opportunities for the hugely expanded pool of talent within our party to stand as MPs - bringing us into line with parties around the world for whom primaries are a welcome democratic fact of life. Importantly, Open Selection would NOT limit the use of All-Women or All-BAME shortlists.

Lastly, Open Selection will bring Labour MPs closer and more accountable to their CLPs, and help them stay in tune with their local members whose campaigning, canvassing and membership dues are so vital in getting them elected.

We understand that the NEC will be making a raft of recommendations to Conference. Given the huge support for Open Selection throughout the membership, we urge the NEC to include Labour International’s Open Selection motion within these proposals.

We all want a society that is fairer and more democratic - one where everyone has a say. It’s vital that Labour set the example here in its own internal processes. Please include Open Selection in your recommendations to Labour Conference - as the next step in developing a democratic party that is genuinely for the many, not the few.

In solidarity,



Who's signing

Philip Gallagher
Jeremy Butler
denis perrins
Paul Dutton
Amanda Williams
Shaun Doolan
Kath Owen
Kieran Thompson
keith Winter
Robert Seggie
Renato Colonna
Rachel Bye
Ian Clark
Robert Brown
Bob Brown
Jezz White
Daljit Singh
Brenda Peacock
Susan Hickey
Brian Cocozza
Janet Overfield Shaw
Kate Blair
Else Panayi
Andrew Dacey
James Healy
Syed Shah
Tamar El-Menshawy
John Ward
Jonathan Dunn
Jason Gold
1,903 signatures

Will you sign?

  • Philip Gallagher
    signed 2018-09-22 21:11:31 +0100
  • Jeremy Butler
    signed 2018-09-22 20:59:18 +0100
  • denis perrins
    signed 2018-09-22 20:03:09 +0100
  • Paul Dutton
    signed 2018-09-22 18:49:34 +0100
  • Amanda Williams
    signed 2018-09-22 17:45:06 +0100
  • Shaun Doolan
    signed 2018-09-22 15:48:16 +0100
  • Kath Owen
    signed 2018-09-22 15:39:48 +0100
  • Kieran Thompson
    signed 2018-09-22 13:41:48 +0100
    Kieran Thompson
  • keith Winter
    signed 2018-09-22 13:00:31 +0100
  • Robert Seggie
    signed 2018-09-22 11:50:10 +0100
    R R Seggie
  • Renato Colonna
    signed 2018-09-22 11:47:28 +0100
  • Rachel Bye
    signed 2018-09-22 10:52:45 +0100
  • Ian Clark
    signed 2018-09-22 10:36:44 +0100
  • Robert Brown
    signed via 2018-09-22 10:36:09 +0100
    Make MPs accountable
  • Bob Brown
    signed 2018-09-22 10:07:04 +0100
    Yes indeed let’s elect hard working MPs for labour not their own agenda
  • Jezz White
    signed 2018-09-22 09:50:27 +0100
  • Daljit Singh
    signed 2018-09-22 09:12:29 +0100
  • Brenda Peacock
    signed 2018-09-22 08:43:37 +0100
    Please listen to what the majority want and put candidates forward who are fit for the job and will fully support the labour leadership and policies
  • Susan Hickey
    signed 2018-09-22 08:32:08 +0100
  • Brian Cocozza
    signed 2018-09-22 08:07:13 +0100
    If the NEC is so keen to promote democracy in such a way that at the same time they can also ensure the usual suspects are kept (relatively) happy and so reduce the chances of them throwing another one of their hissy fits, this is just the wrong kind of compromise.

    What we should be proposing is that the reselection policy has attached to it some specifics about how it should be enforced and implemented, so as to create certain assurances that this will be fair towards those MPs who object the most strongly. The obvious caveat to start with would be that these selection contests for incumbent Labour MPs would only take place after all other seats (where the sitting MP is not a Labour representative) have had their candidates decided.

    When they do, the order of these should also be considered. You could specify, say, that Jeremy and John must be the ones to go first, with Diane and Emily following them, then once all the Shadow Cabinet are done you move onto the junior frontbenchers. The best way to deal with all the rest would surely be to draw up the list of MPs and sort them so that it starts with those for whom a fresh contest, according to a set of criteria, is deemed a priority due to how secure they would be considered to be in their role. (I would suggest that topping this might be George Howarth what with his having enjoyed a >30-year tenure in a seat known for consistently posting Labour majorities one would swear blind were a misprint, while at the other end obviously it would be Janet Daby due to her being the very newest arrival, before which Emma Dent Coad and Rosie Duffield would be expected to defend their place in seats that overall Labour have almost no right holding.)
  • Janet Overfield Shaw
    signed 2018-09-22 07:56:44 +0100
  • Kate Blair
    signed 2018-09-22 06:55:59 +0100
  • Else Panayi
    signed 2018-09-22 01:54:04 +0100
    Else Panayi
  • Andrew Dacey
    signed 2018-09-22 00:49:48 +0100
  • James Healy
    signed 2018-09-21 23:36:56 +0100
    If you want Corbyn and his policies it’s a no brainer
  • Syed Shah
    signed 2018-09-21 23:11:13 +0100
    Mandatory reselection is the way forward
  • Tamar El-Menshawy
    signed 2018-09-21 21:48:27 +0100
  • John Ward
    signed 2018-09-21 21:36:06 +0100
  • Jonathan Dunn
    signed 2018-09-21 21:28:35 +0100
  • Jason Gold
    signed 2018-09-21 21:06:49 +0100

NEC Reps