Petition to NEC: Make Open Selection an NEC Motion!

Before Conference the NEC meets to discuss its response to the Party Democracy Review. This is a golden opportunity for Party Members to ask the NEC to make Open Selection their own. Let's not miss this opportunity!

Sign the petition. Tell your friends. Use the text to send your own email/letter. Share our new video.





To the National Executive Committee

Andy Kerr (Chair), Wendy Nichols (Vice Chair), Jeremy Corbyn MP, Tom Watson MP, Diana Holland, Jon Trickett MP, Rebecca Long-Bailey MP, Kate Osamor MP, Richard Leonard MSP, Alun Davies AM, Richard Corbett MEP, Lara McNeill, Keith Vaz MP, Keith Birch (Unison), Jim Kennedy (Unite), Andi Fox (TSSA), Pauline McCarthy (Bakers), Paddy Lillis (Usdaw), Wendy Nichols (Unison), Andy Kerr (CWU), Sarah Owen (GMB), Cath Speight (GMB), Ian Murray (FBU), Mick Whelan (ASLEF), Joanne Cairns (USDAW), James Asser, Ann Black, Yasmin Dar, Rachel Garnham, Jon Lansman, Eddie Izzard, Claudia Webbe, Darren Williams, Pete Willsman, Rhea Wolfson, Nick Forbes, Alice Perry, George Howarth MP, Margaret Beckett MP, Shabana Mahmood MP

Open Letter: Open Selection

Dear NEC members,

Democracy and accountability are core principles of Labour’s manifesto For The Many, Not The Few. They are central to our proposals for taking back control of our major utilities. They are the principal concerns of our Democracy Review. But as a party, we lack  democracy and accountability when it comes to the selection and reselection of our parliamentary candidates.

Labour International CLP has proposed an Open Selection constitutional amendment for this year’s Conference which would remedy this situation by automatically giving all Labour members a democratic vote to chose the best Labour candidate for their seat, every election.

This Open Selection proposal would abolish the trigger ballot, which forces local members to campaign actively to ‘deselect’ their sitting MP: an antagonistic process which is currently fomenting division in the party at a time when we urgently need more unity.

In its place, Open Selection would extend the principle of one member one vote throughout the party. OMOV has brought huge positive changes to Labour. It commands overwhelming support amongst members and has been responsible for an astronomic rise in party membership. Extending OMOV to the selection of parliamentary candidates will make Labour membership even more meaningful and attractive.

Open Selection would open up opportunities for the hugely expanded pool of talent within our party to stand as MPs - bringing us into line with parties around the world for whom primaries are a welcome democratic fact of life. Importantly, Open Selection would NOT limit the use of All-Women or All-BAME shortlists.

Lastly, Open Selection will bring Labour MPs closer and more accountable to their CLPs, and help them stay in tune with their local members whose campaigning, canvassing and membership dues are so vital in getting them elected.

We understand that the NEC will be making a raft of recommendations to Conference. Given the huge support for Open Selection throughout the membership, we urge the NEC to include Labour International’s Open Selection motion within these proposals.

We all want a society that is fairer and more democratic - one where everyone has a say. It’s vital that Labour set the example here in its own internal processes. Please include Open Selection in your recommendations to Labour Conference - as the next step in developing a democratic party that is genuinely for the many, not the few.

In solidarity,



Who's signing

M Murfin Solo
Pat Massie
Neil Anthony Hayward Lewis
Christopher Grace
Debbie Thompson
Marc Sutton
Steve Jack
Chris Brace
Tim Murgatroyd
Terry Varnfield
Peter Gregson
Carolyn Redfern
Sylvie Harkinson
Jenifer Flintoft
Stephen Blake
Heber David Martin
nina davies
Rhys Campbell
Duncan Russell
laura smith
Madeleine Buxton
Chris Withers
kenny walsh
steven owens
maggi adams
Philip Gallagher
Jeremy Butler
denis perrins
1,884 signatures

Will you sign?

  • M Murfin Solo
    signed 2019-08-12 12:48:13 +0100
    scunthorpe clp
  • Pat Massie
    signed 2019-08-12 07:42:53 +0100
    I do believe open selection is best so that we can have MP`s who work for the people and the Party and not for their own ends.
  • Neil Anthony Hayward Lewis
    signed 2019-07-30 18:59:00 +0100
  • Christopher Grace
    signed 2019-07-30 13:45:13 +0100
  • Debbie Thompson
    signed 2019-07-30 13:07:13 +0100
  • Marc Sutton
    signed 2019-07-30 11:42:00 +0100
    Labour needs to extend democracy further to selection of its candidates. This means selection of candidates prior to Elections.
  • Steve Jack
    signed via 2019-07-30 11:31:19 +0100
  • Steve Jack
    @jacktravel tweeted link to this page. 2019-07-30 11:27:55 +0100
    Sign the petition: Petition to NEC: Make Open Selection an NEC Motion!
  • Chris Brace
    signed via 2019-07-29 22:04:02 +0100
    It’s obvious, it’s open, it’s democratic
  • Tim Murgatroyd
    signed 2019-07-29 21:16:49 +0100
    Democracy is not a luxury!
  • Tony
    signed 2019-05-16 00:30:13 +0100
  • Terry Varnfield
    signed 2019-02-27 14:53:30 +0000
  • Peter Gregson
    signed via 2019-02-11 07:23:35 +0000
  • Carolyn Redfern
    signed 2019-02-10 13:45:19 +0000
  • Sylvie Harkinson
    signed 2018-12-31 02:54:00 +0000
  • Jenifer Flintoft
    signed 2018-10-03 08:19:57 +0100
  • Stephen Blake
    signed 2018-10-02 09:33:29 +0100
    Stephen Blake
  • Heber David Martin
    signed 2018-09-28 18:58:53 +0100
  • nina davies
    signed 2018-09-27 11:55:14 +0100
  • Rhys Campbell
    signed 2018-09-26 09:47:43 +0100
    Rhys Campbell
  • Duncan Russell
    signed 2018-09-25 06:50:16 +0100
  • laura smith
    signed 2018-09-24 22:03:48 +0100
  • Madeleine Buxton
    signed 2018-09-24 15:23:01 +0100
    MP’s need to be accountable we do the legwork to get these MP’s voted in we should have the ability to vote them out,if they are not performing adequately. I will no longer vote for an MP that does not support the politics of the Party Leader! They blatantly come out criticise and undermine JC without fear of retribution. They undermine the party on a daily basis. I say no more. Democracy!
  • Chris Withers
    signed 2018-09-23 14:54:50 +0100
  • kenny walsh
    signed 2018-09-23 11:13:00 +0100
    kenny walsh
  • steven owens
    signed 2018-09-23 08:12:04 +0100
  • maggi adams
    signed 2018-09-23 00:01:59 +0100
  • Philip Gallagher
    signed 2018-09-22 21:11:31 +0100
  • Jeremy Butler
    signed 2018-09-22 20:59:18 +0100
  • denis perrins
    signed 2018-09-22 20:03:09 +0100

NEC Reps