Open Selection for the Labour Party

Sign this statement if you support our campaign and are a member of the UK Labour Party.

If you have a position (e.g. CLP or Branch Officer, MP or Local Councillor) please add it in the comments section.

For more info email us at


I support the rule-change motion on the open selection of Labour Party parliamentary candidates proposed by Labour International CLP in 2017 and discussed at Labour Party Annual Conference in 2018. 

I call upon the NEC to propose a rule change for Open Selection on its own initiative for the next Labour Conference

Who's signing

Jill Coward
George thomas lamb
John Hughes #GTTO #Jc4pm2019.
Sarah Wookey
Joe Bell
Denise Cassata
Harold Pattison
Tony Free (Laborman)
Glyn Foreman
Elaine Fullaway
J H Masterson
Dave Russell
John Dunn
Lynn Gibson
Barbara Simpson
Leonard Surridge
Caroline Kaye
Mark Harrison
Chris Neville
Teresa Rose Steele
Pat McGuirk
Philip Morris
Nick Hallsworth
Jan Holbrook
Linda Lewis
Michael Proctor
162 signatures

Will you sign?

  • Jill Coward
    signed via 2019-05-12 22:38:37 +0100
    Chair, Warminster Branch, CLP Membership Secretary
  • George thomas lamb
    signed 2019-05-12 21:20:48 +0100
  • John Hughes #GTTO #Jc4pm2019.
    @JohnHughes127 tweeted link to this page. 2019-05-12 17:01:45 +0100
  • John Hughes #GTTO #Jc4pm2019.
    signed 2019-05-12 17:01:37 +0100
    Let us get the job done, of course I will sign.
  • Sarah Wookey
    signed 2019-05-12 15:37:53 +0100
  • Joe Bell
    signed 2019-05-12 14:26:58 +0100
    Ordinary party member
  • Denise Cassata
    signed 2019-05-12 14:23:33 +0100
  • Harold Pattison
    signed 2019-05-12 14:09:31 +0100
  • Tony Free (Laborman)
    signed 2019-05-12 14:02:18 +0100
    Grass roots selection is at the heart of socialism. It can’t come too soon
  • Glyn Foreman
    signed via 2019-05-12 12:05:29 +0100
    Glyn Foreman
  • Elaine Fullaway
    signed 2019-05-12 11:14:24 +0100
    Elaine Fullaway
  • J H Masterson
    signed 2019-05-12 11:04:26 +0100
  • Dave Russell
    signed 2019-05-12 10:00:33 +0100
    Dave Russell
  • John Dunn
    signed 2019-05-12 09:37:19 +0100
  • Lynn Gibson
    signed 2019-05-12 08:56:01 +0100
  • Barbara Simpson
    @Glesnimabs tweeted link to this page. 2019-05-12 08:23:24 +0100
  • Barbara Simpson
    signed 2019-05-12 08:22:03 +0100
    Chair, Penylan Branch, EC Delegate
  • Leonard Surridge
    @Leonard56171228 tweeted link to this page. 2019-05-12 08:21:11 +0100
  • Leonard Surridge
    signed 2019-05-12 08:21:00 +0100
  • Caroline Kaye
    signed 2019-05-09 22:05:26 +0100
  • Mark Harrison
    signed 2019-05-09 20:32:36 +0100
    Manchester Central CLP (pc)
  • Chris Neville
    signed 2019-05-09 11:50:22 +0100
  • Teresa Rose Steele
    @treezsteele tweeted link to this page. 2019-05-09 08:40:19 +0100
  • Teresa Rose Steele
    signed 2019-05-09 08:40:00 +0100
    I want to be part of a democratic system whereby the party members have a say in who stands as a local candidate for MP. I want to be able to say whether or not they are doing their best or whether they are pandering to the establishment that currently works against us.
  • Pat McGuirk
    signed 2019-05-08 20:02:14 +0100
  • Philip Morris
    signed 2019-05-08 13:52:07 +0100
  • Nick Hallsworth
    signed 2019-05-08 13:41:19 +0100
    Gorton CLP
  • Jan Holbrook
    signed 2019-05-08 12:53:01 +0100
    Open Selection should have been debated and passed at Conference last year, but the open selection motions which had been submitted by CLPs over a year before were stopped from reaching the conference floor, and were undemocratically replaced with a motion cobbled together by the fortyone or so members of Labour’s National Executive Committee the night before. This, and a certain undemocratic union block vote on conference floor, blocked Open Selection for a further three years. On hearing that news, I immediately resigned my Unite membership. And why did the NEC and Unite the Union behave in this undemocratic way, ignoring the wishes of the majority? The words “gravy train” come to mind, but of course I could be wrong!
  • Linda Lewis
    signed 2019-05-08 12:12:23 +0100
  • Michael Proctor
    signed 2019-05-08 08:21:22 +0100

NEC Reps