Open Selection for the Labour Party

Sign this statement if you support our campaign and are a member of the UK Labour Party.

If you have a position (e.g. CLP or Branch Officer, MP or Local Councillor) please add it in the comments section.

For more info email us at [email protected]


I support the rule-change motion on the open selection of Labour Party parliamentary candidates proposed by Labour International CLP in 2017 and discussed at Labour Party Annual Conference in 2018. 

I call upon the NEC to propose a rule change for Open Selection on its own initiative for the next Labour Conference

Who's signing

Steve Gold
Dushyantha Large
Tom Cardew
Sarah Cowley
Simon Cooke
antony wright
Kathryn Houghton
Trevor Jones
Richard Margerison 🌹
Gordon Sim
Susan Raddon
Ruth Morgan
Ian MacDonald
William Hepple
Eddy Richman
Nigel Baldwin
Heather Nicholls
Jason Lear
Aurore Lester-Smith
Marian Reader
Dominae Heavens
Ben Bruges #BlackLivesMatter #LabourParty #ally
patricia Winning
Aaron Savage
John Swift
maureen lindsay
Sheena McKerrell
283 signatures

Will you sign?

  • Steve Gold
    signed 2019-09-19 20:21:57 +0100
  • Dushyantha Large
    signed via 2019-09-15 05:52:55 +0100
    It is essential that this motion is put forward again in 2019. Dushy Large, Labour International
  • Tom Cardew
    signed 2019-09-14 17:22:57 +0100
  • Sarah Cowley
    signed via 2019-09-09 22:45:23 +0100
    I think there should be open selections prior to all general elections for all candidates (ideally from all parties).

    Good MPs who work hard to represent their constituents interests will be reselected and will have nothing to worry about.

    Also they should permitted to serve a maximum of 3 terms.

    Both of these measures will encourage a flow of new ideas, prevent the safe seat is a “cushy little job for life” syndrome, and will hopefully ensure that parliament becomes a forum where the subjects of public importance can be responded to, addressed and hopefully resolved by a wider cross section of society in ways which are dynamic and where success is measured against more than just economic outcome.
  • Simon Cooke
    signed via 2019-09-05 14:16:15 +0100
  • antony wright
    signed 2019-09-05 09:28:20 +0100
    antony wright
  • Kathryn Houghton
    signed via 2019-09-04 23:35:22 +0100
  • Trevor Jones
    signed via 2019-09-01 00:13:05 +0100
    Trevor archibald Jones
  • Citizen of Nowhere #GTTO #JC4PM #MustBeAMarxist
    @tisy47 tweeted link to this page. 2019-08-31 23:44:03 +0100
  • Richard Margerison 🌹
    signed 2019-08-17 18:47:57 +0100
  • Gordon Sim
    signed 2019-08-12 10:46:08 +0100
  • Susan Raddon
    signed 2019-08-11 21:39:39 +0100
  • Ruth Morgan
    signed 2019-08-11 20:59:27 +0100
  • Ian MacDonald
    signed 2019-08-11 20:47:45 +0100
  • William Hepple
    signed 2019-08-11 19:38:25 +0100
  • Eddy Richman
    signed via 2019-08-07 00:03:24 +0100
  • Nigel Baldwin
    signed 2019-08-01 14:31:00 +0100
    I joined the party to support Jeremy Corbyn and his drive for more open democracy. The party belongs to its members not, as it currently stands, the PLP. If the PLP were more democratically elected internally it might be a different matter.
  • Heather Nicholls
    signed 2019-08-01 07:25:16 +0100
    Heather Nicholls
  • Jason Lear
    signed 2019-07-30 09:45:49 +0100
    As a member of the Labour I honestly feel as a Labour member the CLP members need to have more of a say on who becomes members of the shadow cabinet including who becomes the Deputy leader. As a member I am pretty much used to seeing our Leader getting slated in Tory affiliated newspapers. Tom Watson needs to go. He doesn’t represent me as a Labour member. Would be interesting to see what other Members feel on this issue
  • Aurore Lester-Smith
    signed 2019-07-30 02:09:05 +0100
    The motion unites and strengthens the Labour Party in preparation of an imminent general election, consequently it is essential.
  • Marian Reader
    signed 2019-07-29 12:56:48 +0100
  • Dominae Heavens
    signed via 2019-07-28 18:42:35 +0100
  • Ben Bruges #BlackLivesMatter #LabourParty #ally
    signed 2019-07-25 00:45:12 +0100
  • patricia Winning
    signed 2019-07-23 14:57:50 +0100
    patricia WINNING
  • Aaron Savage
    signed 2019-07-22 17:17:44 +0100
    Aaron Savage
  • #helenohjeremycorbyn
    @helenhatessmear tweeted link to this page. 2019-07-22 17:02:27 +0100
  • #helenohjeremycorbyn
    signed via 2019-07-22 17:02:16 +0100
  • John Swift
    signed via 2019-07-22 11:12:27 +0100
  • maureen lindsay
    signed 2019-07-22 10:08:41 +0100
    maureen lindsay
  • Sheena McKerrell
    signed 2019-07-22 09:33:55 +0100

NEC Reps